Skip to content

Hello world!

Hello world!

This is not my first blog, but it’s my first at word press. After irrationally switching blogs from different sites just to see if I am more active with it, I am here!

Sounds fairly stupid, but what is a life without any stupidity or silly acts?

My “About me” section is not going to tell you anything, and most probably a few good friends would be the only people to read his blog to start with, so I thought I would start with a short intro and a long list of topics I want to write about.

I am an Indian man, in late twenties, single, working in business consulting, and living in Europe after seeing a few snippets of other countries. The rest, you either know if you are a friend, or would know if and when you read my blogs.

So without further ado, here is a very ambitious list of topics close to my heart that I have strong views on, and where I wish to write, and get critical feedback on: 

  1. The story of my experiments with charting my own path to life:
  2. Role models:
  3. Indian politics and social issues
  4. Religion & faith
    • Religious, ideological and cultural dogmas that ail the world
    • Can you be rational, liberal and not a communist
    • Can you be a believer, spiritual, and not religious?
    • The supremely powerful entity called I
  5. Globalization: the Good, the bad, and the Ugly
  6. Us and them: Impact of globalization on India:
  7. Relationships
    • Why do we complicate, essentially simple things?
    • Inter cultural relationships: why I find the concept so exciting!
    • From an Indian perspective: why are most Indian men jeans wearing patriarchs?  Family system and feudal mindset vs. western inspired romantic and sexual awakening: where is this clash going?
  8. Travelogues from planned and spontaneous, long, and short trips, to faraway lands, or nearby villages
  9. Funny / light hearted tales from everyday life
  10. The life of an expat
  11. Movies I have loved and watched over and over again
  12. My bucket list of whims and fancies that posses me, what I managed to do, and what are still pipe dreams: Ranging from owning  a German Shepherd, to making a film,  to climbing Everest
  13. Epics and mythologies: what we can learn from them, and what should be taken with a pinch of salt
  14. The big, bad, virtual world: How a lot of us have learnt a lot using the internet vs. how stunted our social skills could become due to / in spite of social networking
  15. Links to interesting blogs / articles / videos  that I have an opinion on, or that I find just plain funny
  16. Quotes and statements that resonate with me 

That’s it for the lofty plan! 

I have started at this website by sharing links to a few select blogs I wrote earlier, and are dated pretty much mid 2007

Cheers!

Vasu

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us
    useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary
    job!

    July 7, 2014
  2. First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question that
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before
    writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind
    in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!

    June 4, 2014
  3. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Thanks

    April 27, 2014
  4. Thanks Sandeep. I checked your blog and what struck me first was “21 May 1997, Venue Chepauk Stadium, Chennai, Independence Cup Final. India Vs Pakistan.”

    I was too heart broken to read further cos we all know what happened 😦

    Let’s stay conected thru our blogs 🙂

    Cheers!
    Vasu

    April 16, 2010
  5. Very interesting your first Blog..I liked it. Also I like ur comments re Dr. Ambedkar on the other blog.

    Keep blogging.

    Cheers,

    Sandip.

    April 16, 2010
  6. Thanks Bem…it would be excellent in my own critical book, when I have meanningful stuff published on the list above, and other topics, and people have discussions around them!

    Keep reading and keep writing 🙂

    Cheers!
    Vasu

    April 9, 2010
  7. Bem #

    Excellent piece of work .. 🙂

    April 9, 2010
  8. @Preerna: Thanks for your comments. I plan to add my cooking adventures to the list, but I leave the recipes to pros like you 🙂

    @Sabarinath: Great observation and many thanks! I guess if your profession constantly demans you to “structure” your thoughts, it could trickle into your other activities like blogging 🙂
    I hope that whe i mature as a writer some day, I can write with more flow and less structure, and yet make sense!

    Cheers!
    Vasu

    February 23, 2010
  9. This is the most interesting “Hello World” I have ever seen. What I liked most is your method of setting an agenda (like a task list on what all you want to do) and then ticking off (through blog links) on the ones you have completed.

    Keep writing.

    February 23, 2010
  10. Hello Vasu,

    You have a very eclectic range of topics discussed here. This is very interesting. Looking forward to reading more!

    Best wishes,
    Preena

    February 22, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What are India’s biggest challenges in our quest to become a vibrant, rich, progressive, and powerful nation? « Journeys across a pathless land

Leave a comment